Week of Workouts: February 2020

I’m back today with February’s edition of my Week of Workouts series! At the beginning of the year, I had a few requests to resurrect this series I initially began on the blog back in 2018 and, as of last month, we’re back in action. I am using these monthly posts to give you guys a glimpse into what a full week of fitness looks like over here these days.

Last week, I managed to make it to the gym for a work out four days with three rest days sprinkled in the mix. My workouts included a combination of Burn Boot Camp classes, strength training and a “lazy girl” workout at the gym while I streamed The Bachelor.

As always, if you have questions about any of the exercises mentioned in the graphics below, definitely let me know and I’ll try to provide more detail in the comments section. And now let’s get to it!

WEEK OF WORKOUTS: FEBRUARY 2020

  • Monday: Lower Body Workout

Burn Boot Camp Leg Workout

Ooph beginning the week with a Burn Boot Camp leg day workout is no joke! This one was a partner workout that incorporated a few plyometric exercises into a more traditional healthy strength workout. If my legs weren’t already on fire after this one, the tabata-style low pulsing squats + squat holds sealed the deal.

  • Tuesday: 40 Minutes Treadmill Walking + Foam Rolling

Confession: Tuesday’s workout was motivated by my desire to watch The Bachelor. I don’t ever really watch it in “real time” but stream little segments of the show throughout the week, often at the gym when I’m warming up or cooling down with some low-intensity cardio. I wasn’t feeling overly motivated in the gym on Tuesday and figured that was a sign my body would benefit from something low key so I stuck to the treadmill and walked for 40 minutes at various speeds and inclines. I then hopped off and rounded out my time at the gym with some foam rolling and stretching. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Not every gym session has to be a total sweat fest!

  • Wednesday: Upper Body Workout

Upper Body Triple Set Workout

My friend Lauren and I joked that this upper body workout felt like a bodybuilder workout. It was HARD and HEAVY and the kind of workout you just kind of have to tough it out to get through. I liked the way each triple set varied the way we completed the reps and the quarter-to-full rep lateral shoulder raises were crazy challenging. Clearly I need to incorporate more of those into my workouts because they kicked my booty!

  • Thursday: Rest Day

Thursday was a busy day over here so I ended up taking the day completely off from the gym. While weekends are almost always rest days, often one day during the week becomes a rest day as well because of various commitments, appointments, kid plans, play dates, etc.

  • Friday:

total body strength workout

Friday’s total body strength workout was a beast. It was fast paced and the format of the workout made it feel almost like a cardio strength workout since everyone was sweating up a storm. I liked the way this workout kept things moving in a way that kept me engaged and I think that can be attributed to the dropset format where we decreased the number of reps of the second exercise in each superset. I never made it to one rep of the second exercise because the four minutes designated to each superset flew by!

  • Saturday + Sunday: Rest Day

This weekend was another workout-free weekend over here. We filled our days with family fun and some walks with Sadie but I did not get in a traditional workout which is typical for me on the weekends these days. I’m not motivated enough to wake up early to work out before my family on the weekends and don’t want to spend time away from everyone while I sneak in a work out so I’m more than okay with taking two back-to-back rest days on Saturday and Sunday most weekends.

Question of the Day

What was your favorite workout last week?

How many rest days do you typically take from the gym every week? 

The post Week of Workouts: February 2020 appeared first on Peanut Butter Fingers.

from Health & Wellness https://www.pbfingers.com/week-of-workouts-february-2020/

Leave a comment